Meet the Board

The Hunter Primary Care provides leadership and corporate governance for the organisation.

The Board has eight members – four member-nominated Directors and four Board-nominated Directors.

The Board is responsible for:

  • Corporate governance
  • Setting the strategic direction for the company and goals for management
  • Monitoring the performance of the company against the Strategic Plan and goals
  • Ensuring compliance with statutory responsibilities and
  • Overseeing risk management

Board Members

Elected November 2014 and re-elected in November 2016. Peter is Chair of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee. Peter is a director of Marketown Health. He was the founding Chair of the Hunter Division of General Practice and then for the Hunter Urban Division of General Practice. He continued on that Board throughout its existence and was on the Board when it became the Hunter Medicare Local until 2012 and was re-elected in 2014. Peter was on the Board of GPNSW (then the Alliance of NSW Divisions of General Practice) from 2001 to 2007. He was Chair of that group from 2003 to 2005.

Elected in November 2015. Currently a member of the Finance and Risk Management Committee. Richard is a consultant to Sparke Helmore Lawyers, a Director of the Hunter Business Chamber and was President of the Chamber for three years until late 2014. Richard is a Conjoint Professor of Practice in the School of Law at the University of Newcastle and a member of the Advisory Boards for both the Faculty of Business and Law and for the School of Law. He is Chair of the Australian Institute of Company Directors Hunter committee and a non-executive director of Rural and Remote Medical Services Ltd.

Elected November 2014 and re-elected in November 2016. Mark is a member of the Clinical Governance Committee. Formerly CEO of Hunter Medicare Local, Mark remains passionate about strengthening primary health care and has a strong understanding and experience of health system reform. Working as a GP for the last 20 years, Mark brings hands-on experience to our region’s health system. Currently a Director of the NIB Foundation and of Community Healthcare Trustees, and is the Clinical Director of the general practice it operates in Kurri Kurri and Cessnock. Mark is a member of the Hunter New England Central Coast Primary Health Network Hunter Metro Clinical Advisory Group.

Elected November 2015 and re-elected November 2017. Currently Chair of the Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee. Jennifer is a certified practicing accountant with over 20 years experience working in senior roles for national and international organisations. Jennifer presently serves as a member of Charles Sturt University Council, is co-founder of City2City Community Foundation, and Chair of Cessnock City Council and Upper Hunter Shire Council Audit Committees. Jennifer formerly held positions with Mars Incorporated, as Finance Director Central Europe and Group Financial Controller Australia/New Zealand. Jennifer was also Executive Manager for North East Water where she was responsible for Corporate Governance, Risk Management, Marketing and Communications, Customer Services and Human Resources.

Elected in November 2015. Currently a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee. Scott is a partner of Cantle, Carmichael Legal. A lawyer with 20 years experience working in the areas of commercial dispute resolution, workplace relations, compliance and risk management. Scott was previously a partner of two national law firms for almost 10 years. Throughout his career Scott has worked with a diverse range of local and international corporate clients in the areas on health and disability services, hospitality, IT, infrastructure, manufacturing and engineering, mining and property development, as well as state and federal government agencies and NGOs. Scott presently serves as a Public Officer for the Barkuma Neighbourhood Centre, a Hunter based Aboriginal NGO.

Elected in November 2012 and re-elected in November 2016 and 2017. Milton is Chair of the Clinical Governance Committee. Practice principal and GP in Newcastle region. Supervisor for medical students for University of Newcastle and GP Registrars for GP Synergy. Current Programme Committee Chair and previous Chair of the Hunter Postgraduate Medical Institute (HPMI). Over 30 years following a passion for improving health care through continuing professional health education program delivery via HPMI.

Elected in November 2012 and re-elected in November 2014, 2016 & 2017. Currently a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee.
Ben is a registered pharmacist in Newcastle, a former proprietor and has experience in business management as well as clinical pharmacy services.
He began a Ministerial Council appointment to the Pharmacy Board of Australia in 2015 and is also a practitioner member of the Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy’s National Advisory Group.
Ben is passionate about preventative health measures around lifestyle while improving the community’s wellbeing, particularly via Hunter Primary Care programs.

Appointed in February 2012, elected November 2015 and re-elected November 2017. Currently a member of the Clinical Governance Committee. Steven is a senior professional with a background in Engineering, Construction, Defence Industry, Vocational Education, Health and Community Enterprises. Board appointments include, Engineers Without Boarders Indigenous Advisory Board, Empowered Communities, the Gidgee Group of Companies and Indigenous Communities Alliance. Previously on the Boards of NSW Indigenous Chamber of Commerce (Founding Director), Alliance People Solutions (Owner/Director), Hunter Valley Youth Express Inc. (Vice Chair), Upper Hunter Mining and Engineering Skills Group (Founding Chair), and Defence Reserves Support Council (Hunter Chair and NSW Vice Chair). He brings an understanding and working knowledge of the Federal health reforms currently being implemented nationally such as Closing The Gap initiatives.